Glamorous & Glitzy • What nail salons should be like

I first went into a salon when I was five and sat with one too many women all being prettyfied. I loved going to the salon as a kid not for the haircut  but for the magazines, beauty books and sometimes local comic books (mom always gave me that stern wait-till-we-get-home stare each time I picked up one 😊 ).

Gossips freely aired by the hairstylists and nail technicians amused me and at the age of five, I learnt what a commentary was. Mom always reminded me and my sister not to butt in or laugh when everyone else laughed. “Older women sometimes say a lot of rude things; do not believe everything that people say,” she said.

That’s what a salon was like in the 80s.

And now at 27 (do not ask my birth year, I look 27 😊), I’m happy that there are a few good salons near home. I need not to go to the city to have my nails done because there’s one about 2 km away that’s all about nail care and nothing else.

To me a good nail salon has a (1) bright yet relaxing ambiance (no showbiz gossip on the background), and has (2) highly skilled nail technicians (once I pick one that’s really good, I follow her whichever salon she moves to). I also check the (3) nail polishes on offer. Good options are  organic, natural and 5 Free nail enamels (free from 5 chemicals potentially dangerous to women’s health – formaldehyde, dibutyl phthalate, and toluene, and allergens camphor and formaldehyde resin).

Organic nail enamels are safe for pregnant women. I change my polish every two weeks but if there’s an occasion I need to attend, the salon I frequent allows nail colour change for a small fee.

I love glitzy nail shades like these…

Lainey loves life - Organic - 5 Free - Glitter  Nails - Zoya - Pixie Dust - Tomoko

Zoya Pixie Dust in Tomoko

Lainey loves life - Organic - 5 Free - Glitter  Nails - Orly FX - Space Cadet

Orly FX Space Cadet

Lainey loves life - Organic - 5 Free - Glitter  Nails - Orly FX - Pink Pixel

Orly FX Pink Pixel

Lainey loves life - Organic - 5 Free - Glitter  Nails - Orly - Bubbly Bombshell

Orly Bubbly Bombshell

Let’s be friends!
Facebook twitter Google-plus instagram bloglovin vimeo mail
One thought on “Glamorous & Glitzy • What nail salons should be like

Leave a Reply

