How to Make Homemade Avocado Sherbet (without the use of an Ice Cream Maker)

Laineyloveslife - Avocado Sorbet sherbet Ice Cream

Oh, what a treat!

I mentioned in a comment-convo with MissMaisieandMe that I’m deliberately avoiding high-calorie fruits (avocados, grapes and mangoes to be specific) as recommended by my ob-gyn. I happily obliged thinking that I shouldn’t gain too much weight until Jess told me avocado is good for the baby. I did a little research and found a hefty number of benefits of eating this fruit while pregnant:

  • rich in folic acid
  • good source of calcium
  • full of vitamins
  • prevents anemia
  • boosts digestion
  • perfect source of good fat
  • aids absorption of nutrients
  • rich in minerals
  • contains choline that helps in baby’s brain development
  • eases leg cramps
  • balances cholesterol and sugar levels

(Research studies link bananas and avocados with latex allergies so be sure you’re not allergic to these fruits. Also if you’re trying to control weight gain during pregnancy, regulate your consumption of avocado.)

Just to fix my craving…

I asked my sister to get me a kilo of avocado because it’s in season here. One kilo (5 medium sized avocados) only cost me less than $1. You might think making a sherbet or ice cream needs an ice cream machine. Well, you can do it at home with just a blender and/or hand mixer! Here’s how:

Ingredients:

1 can of sweetened condensed milk
2 cups of cold whip cream (optional)
1 kilo of avocado

  1. Pour sweetened condensed milk into a bowl and put in the fridge for a few minutes.
  2. Using a hand mixer, beat cold cream until stiff. Pour in cold condensed milk and whisk again until fully even.
  3. Using a blender, mix the cream base you just made with diced avocado in high speed (because you know, your cream is now stiff). Blend until smooth.
  4. Place it in a regular ice cream can like the ones you see in the supermarket and freeze for 6 hours.
For preggos like me, I suggest that you skip the whip cream!
  1. Pour sweetened condensed milk into a bowl and put in the fridge for a few minutes.
  2. Put diced avocado in the blender and run it in high speed until smooth.
  3. Add in the condensed milk and blend again.
  4. Place it in an ice cream can and freeze for 3 to 4 hours.

We made another can of sherbet using papaya this time! It’s in the fridge now. I’ll let you know how it turns out tomorrow. 🙂 Enjoy!

Let’s be friends!
Facebook twitter Google-plus instagram bloglovin vimeo mail
21 thoughts on “How to Make Homemade Avocado Sherbet (without the use of an Ice Cream Maker)

  1. jErELLt says:

    Your post made me crave for avocados! I usually just put milk, a bit of sugar and crushed ice. 🙂 I used to hate all kinds of ice cream that are color green. I don’t know why, but I found it weird. But after I tried pistachio, avocado and then green tea flavors, I was converted! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • laineyloveslife says:

      Oh you’re in UAE!! I used to work in Doha, Qatar. Hello neighbour! 🙂 Dito super cheap. 35/kg sa wet market and sa shopwise 45/kg ONLY! 1kg is more or less 5 medium sized avocados. 🙂
      Thanks for reading, Ayvs! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

